Board of Directors

LAJC’s Board of Directors governs how the organization operates and supports our work through financial management and guidance, stewardship of our mission, fundraising, and more. The board consists of attorneys, representatives from the communities we serve, and other committed individuals all of whom bring perspectives and experiences that are invaluable to achieving our mission.  

Our Board of Directors:

Cynthia Neff, IBM, Retired (President)

Cynthia is a longtime champion of LAJC and has served as the organization’s Interim Executive Director, Chair of our Strategic Planning Committee, Board Member, LAJC Charlottesville Advisory Council member, and Volunteer. Her commitment to the work is evidenced by her thousands of hours of volunteer work on behalf of the communities we serve. Prior to retiring in 2006, Cynthia was in charge of human resources for IBM.



Joy Johnson, Public Housing Association of Residents (Vice-President)

The only officer who is not new in her role, Joy has been on the Board of LAJC since 1999 and has served as Vice President for more than a decade. Joy has a long and successful history of advocacy and leadership especially in the realm of public housing. Joy is currently the chair of Public Housing Association of Residents (PHAR) in Charlottesville, an organization she helped to establish in 1988 and which is helping to make the promise of resident-led redevelopment a reality in Charlottesville.



Kristi Kelly, Kelly Guzzo, PLC (Treasurer)

Kristi is a consumer protection attorney and founding attorney of Kelly Guzzo PLC. She has served on LAJC’s Board since 2018 when she stepped up from our Northern Virginia Advisory Council. Kristi has been an exemplary volunteer and supporter for years working with our attorneys on a number of major cases while providing significant financial support both personally and by directing Cy Pres and other funding to LAJC. Kristi’s law firm Kelly Guzzo PLC was recently awarded the Frankie Muse Freeman Organizational Pro Bono Award along with Consumer Litigation Associates.


Ofelia Calderon, Calderon Seguin PLC (Secretary)

Ofelia is a founding partner in Calderón Seguin PLC in Fairfax. Like Kristi, she stepped onto LAJC’s Board in 2018 from our Northern Virginia Advisory Council. Ofelia is an experienced Immigration Attorney and stalwart pro bono presence for LAJC and many other groups including the National Immigration Project and Capital Area Immigrants’ Rights Coalition. She previously served as the President of the Hispanic Bar Association of Virginia.



Jonathan Blank, McGuireWoods LLP (Immediate Past President)

Jonathan is a partner at McGuireWoods and served as LAJC’s Board President from January 2016 – December 2019. During that time Jonathan helped lead both the search for a new Executive Director and the creation of our current strategic plan.  In addition to his board leadership, Jonathan has been an active pro bono particpant in Stinnie v. Holcomb, our class action lawsuit challenging driver’s license suspension for unpaid court debt.  



Eva Anthony, Community Advocate
Byron Arango, Community Advocate
Ivy Bell, Community Advocate
Josh Bowers, University of Virginia School of Law
Tennille Checkovich, McGuireWoods LLP
Tracey Hopper, Family Law Offices of Tracey C. Hopper
Ted Howard, Wiley Rein LLP
Linda Y. Lambert, Lambert & Associates LLC
Dean Lhospital, University of Virginia
Marijean Oldham, Jaggers Communications
Bryan Slaughter, MichieHamlett Attorneys at Law
Tina Washington, Public Housing Association of Residents

While our offices remain closed to walk-ins, we're still here to help. Contact Us