Tenant Rights and Resources

Know Your Rights as a Tenant:

Espanol Abajo

Remember: Get legal advice as soon as possible. You may be able to fight your eviction case. You do not have to move out just because your landlord tells you to leave or files an eviction case against you. Always go to your court date if you have one. Your landlord must wait until they win in court and the sheriff has a writ of eviction ordering you to leave the property.

Note: as-of August 26, 2021, the CDC’s eviction protections are no longer in effect.

Here are some important rights, protections, and resources for tenants facing eviction for nonpayment of rent:

Rent relief is available! You can apply or ask your landlord to apply for you. Learn more and apply online here or by calling (703) 962-1884. 

  • Rent relief is accepting applications for anyone who has fallen behind on rent and lost income or had additional expenses related to the pandemic (such as childcare or utilities) between April 2020 and now. 
  • Rent relief can cover rent payments, late fees, and court costs as far back as April 2020 as well as rent up to three months in the future in certain cases 
  • If you live in Charlottesville, Albemarle, Fluvanna, Greene, Louisa, Nelson, Loudoun, Arlington, Alexandria, Prince William County we have staff available to help you apply for rent relief funds! For rent relief help in those areas you can call us our Rent Relief line (434) 326-4305 or email us at RentRelief@justice4all.org. 
  • If you live outside of those areas you can call the statewide Legal Aid Hotline at 866-534-5243 to be connected with someone in your area who can help you with your rent relief application. 
  •  

Before your landlord takes any action towards evicting you they must: 

  • Give you a written notice that includes information on the Virginia Rent Relief Program AND either apply for rent relief on your behalf within 14 days of giving you notice, enter into a repayment plan with you, or cooperate with your rent relief application. 
  • In order to qualify for these protections tenants must have either have qualified for unemployment or experienced financial hardship during or as a result (either directly or indirectly) of the pandemic. 
  • A landlord could still evict if the tenant refuses to either apply or cooperate in rent relief application, if tenant is determined ineligible for relief, if the relief is not approved w/in 45 days of completed application (14 days if it’s not the tenant’s first RRP application), or if the rent relief fund is empty 
  • This law is in place as-of August 10, 2021, and will remain in place until June 30, 2022. 

If your landlord tries to sue you for unpaid rent:

  • If they own more than four units they must offer you a payment plan, which would prevent eviction as long as you do not fall behind on the payment agreement. 
  • Until September 28, 2021, you can still ask for a 60-day extension on your first court date if you lost income due to COVID (VA law HB340), which gives you more time to pay everything you owe to avoid eviction. 
  • Make sure to get legal assistance as soon as possible! Contact us, your local legal aid, or the Virginia Eviction Legal Hotline.

STEP ONE: 

  1. Call Legal Aid (see below). 
  2. Go to your court date (if you don’t, the case will automatically be decided against you). 
  3. If you utilized the CDC’s eviction protections, bring proof that you gave the CDC declaration to your landlord.  
  4. If you or your landlord has applied for rent relief, bring any proof you have of that to court with you. If your landlord did not tell you about rent relief (which they are required to do before pursuing eviction), refused to apply for rent relief, or refused to cooperate with your rent relief application you should tell the judge and bring any evidence you have. 
  5. Ask for a 60-day extension if you have lost income due to the COVID-19 pandemic. You can do this until September 28, 2021. Take written proof that you lost income during the pandemic. For more information on what to bring to court go to bit.ly/60DayContinuance 
  6. If you disagree with the amount that your landlord says you owe or what you already paid, say so. Even if you owe some rent the landlord must have given you notice of the exact and accurate amount of rent you owe. They also cannot include any excessive late fees (over 10%) or extra charges unless authorized by the lease. 

 

STEP TWO (if you don’t get a 60-day extension of your court date) 

  1. Tell the judge if you do not agree with the amount you owe, or if you disagree with your landlord about whether you paid, or if you do not think your landlord has complied with current tenant protections. 
  2. Ask for a trial. 
  3. Say nothing else in court. 

 

Conozca Sus Derechos como Inquilino

Recuerde: obtenga asesoramiento legal lo antes posible. Es posible que pueda luchar contra su caso de desalojo. Usted no tiene que mudarse sólo porque su arrendador le dice que se vaya o presenta un caso de desalojo en su contra. Siempre vaya a su cita en la corte si tiene una. Su arrendador debe esperar hasta que ganen en la corte y el alguacil tenga una orden de desalojo que le ordene abandonar la propiedad.

Tomar nota: A partir del 26 de agosto, 2021, las protecciones en contra del desalojo del CDC ya no están en efecto.

Estos son algunos derechos, protecciones y recursos importantes para los inquilinos en riesgo de desalojo por no pagar la renta:

¡El alivio del alquiler todavía está disponible! Usted puede aplicar o pedirle a su arrendador que lo solicite. Ve a dhcd.virginia.gov/rmrp para obtener más información. Solicite en línea o llamando al (703) 962-1884.

  • El alivio del alquiler acepta solicitudes para cualquier persona que se haya retrasado en el alquiler y la pérdida de ingresos o que haya tenido gastos adicionales relacionados con la pandemia (como cuidado de niños o servicios públicos) entre abril de 2020 y ahora.
  • Si usted vive en la ciudad de Charlottesville, o los condados de Albemarle, Fluvanna, Greene, Louisa, Nelson, Loudoun, Arlington, Alexandria, Prince William, tenemos personas disponible para ayudarle a obtener ayuda para el alquiler! Para obtener asistencia de alquiler en esas áreas, puede llamar a nuestra línea de ayuda de alquiler al (434) 326-4305 o enviarnos un correo electrónico a RentRelief@justice4all.org.
  • Si usted vive fuera de esas áreas, puede llamar a la Línea Directa de Ayuda Legal estatal al 866-534-5243 para ser conectado con alguien en su área que le puede ayudar con su solicitud para la ayuda de alquiler.

Antes de que el propietario tome cualquiera acción para desalojarle, él o ella tiene que hacer lo siguiente:

  • Darle un aviso por escrito que incluya información sobre el Programa de Alivio de Alquiler de Virginia Y
  • Puede solicitar una ayuda de alquiler en su nombre dentro de los 14 días siguientes a darle este aviso, entrar en un plan de reembolso con usted, o cooperar con su solicitud de alivio de alquiler.
  • Para calificar para estas protecciones, los inquilinos deben haber calificado para el desempleo o haber experimentado dificultades financieras durante o como resultado (ya sea directa o indirectamente) de la pandemia.
  • Un propietario aún podría desalojar si el inquilino se niega a solicitar o cooperar en la solicitud de ayuda de alquiler, si se determina que el inquilino no es elegible para el alivio, si la ayuda no se aprueba en 45 días de completar la solicitud (son 14 días si no es la primera solicitud de alivio de alquiler del inquilino), o si el fondo de ayuda de alquiler está vacío.
  • Ésta ley será vigente hasta el 30 de junio del 2022.

Si su arrendador intenta demandarle por el alquiler no pagado:

  • Si el arrendador posee más de cuatro unidades, deben ofrecerle un plan de pago, lo cual evitaría el desalojo siempre y cuando no se atrase en el acuerdo de pago.
  • Hasta el 28 de septiembre de 2021, aún puede solicitar una extensión de 60 días en su primera cita en la corte si perdió ingresos debido a COVID (ley VA HB340), lo que le da más tiempo para pagar todo lo que debe para evitar el desalojo.

PRIMER PASO:

  1. Llame al Centro de Asistencia Legal (ver abajo).
  2. Vaya a su cita con la corte, en la fecha designada (si usted no aparece a su cita, su caso automáticamente será declarado en su contra).
  3. Si usted utilizó las protecciones de desalojo de los CDC, traiga prueba de que le dio a las personas del CDC que incluían al propietario.
  4. Si usted o el propietario ha solicitado una ayuda de alquiler, lleve cualquiera prueba que tenga de eso a la corte con usted. Si su propietario no le informó acerca de la ayuda de alquiler (que se requiere que lo hagan antes de continuar con el desalojo), se negó a solicitar la ayuda de alquiler, o se negó a cooperar con su solicitud de ayuda de alquiler, usted debe decirselo al juez y traer cualquier evidencia que usted tenga como comprobante.
  5. Pida una extensión de 60 días si ha perdido ingresos debido a la pandemia de COVID-19. Tome pruebas escritas de que perdió ingresos durante la pandemia. Para obtener más información sobre qué llevar a la corte, visite la página de web bit.ly/60DayContinuance.
  6. Si no está de acuerdo con la cantidad que su arrendador dice que debe o lo que ya usted pago, dígalo. Incluso si usted debe algún alquiler, el propietario debe haberle dado aviso de la cantidad exacta y precisa de alquiler que debe. Tampoco pueden incluir ningún cargo por mora excesivo (mas del 10%) o cargos adicionales a menos que estén autorizado por el contrato de arrendamiento.

PASO DOS (si no recibe una extensión de 60 días de su cita en la corte):

  1. Dígale al juez si no está de acuerdo con la cantidad que debe o si no está de acuerdo con su propietario sobre si pagó. Si usted no está de acuerdo con el propietario sobre los pagos hechos para la renta, o si usted no cree que el propietario ha cumplido con las protecciones actuales de usted como inquilino.
  2. Pida un juicio.
  3. No diga nada más en la corte.

Virginia Rent Relief Program:

If you are struggling to pay the rent due to a loss of income or increase in expenses as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Virginia Rent Relief Program may be able to help!

Rent relief funds can cover rent payments, late fees, and court costs as far back as April 2020. In some cases rent relief can cover up to three months of future rent.

To be eligible for rent relief your household income must be at or below 80% of the area median income and pay rent that is at or below 150% market rent. If you’re not sure if you qualify, the Virginia Rent Relief Program has an easy screening tool that you can access here.

Click here for more information and application instructions for the Virginia Rent Relief Program.

If you live in the following areas we have staff available to help with your rent relief application:

  • Charlottesville
  • Albemarle County
  • Fluvanna County
  • Greene County
  • Louisa County
  • Nelson County
  • Loudoun County
  • Arlington
  • Alexandria
  • Prince William County

For rent relief help in those areas you can call us our Rent Relief line (434) 326-4305 or email us at RentRelief@justice4all.org.

If you live outside of these areas but would like assistance with a rent relief application, you can look here or call 866-534-5243 (the Virginia Legal Aid Hotline)

While our offices remain closed to walk-ins, we're still here to help. Contact Us